Skip to content
June 15, 2012 / diannegray

Hello world!

I started this blog in the hope that I could connect with others with the same passion. Writing can be an isolating business. It’s not as if you can sit there and have a conversation with friends and family while your characters are getting lost, beaten up or killed (God forbid!) You’ve got to focus – you’ve got to put time aside, turn off the phone and close the doors – all the things I can’t do. Sitting her writing this now I’ve got hubby watching the television which is blaring in the background (Close Encounters of the Third Kind – I can tell by the soundtrack), the dogs wrestling around my feet which pushes the table around (it’s a wooden table, but they’re BIG dogs), and I’m freezing.

Look forward to getting to know the community better and reading some awesome blogs on this site!

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lori King Books / Jun 17 2012 8:20 pm

    Welcome from a fellow writer with a new blog! I’ll be following your journey as I progress on my own. 🙂

    Like

    • diannegray / Jul 4 2012 9:21 pm

      Thanks Lori! It’s taken me a bit of time to figure out how to drive this site. I’m really looking forward to following your journey as well:)

      Like

  2. Daphne Shadows / Jul 4 2012 9:02 pm

    I wait until everyone has gone to sleep at night. This works out to my advantage because I’m a night person. Maybe you could threaten to not fix dinner for a week if they don’t give you time to write. 😉

    Like

    • diannegray / Jul 4 2012 9:23 pm

      Good idea Daphne! Food is always a good barganing measure 😉

      Like

  3. Tina / Jul 19 2012 9:48 pm

    Thank you for following and hey, great blog! (I thought I’d go back to the first entry to say ‘hello, nice to meet you’) 🙂
    As for distractions… Well, when I was picking my last cell phone I knew it had to have the Word or an application like that – with it I save paper, time and nice things that pop into mind when I’m traveling somewhere and typing is easily performed. Also, I find meditation helping – it does make you focused no matter what’s happening around you.

    Like

    • diannegray / Jul 20 2012 6:51 am

      Thanks Tina! What great ideas. I’ll be travelling around in about a month, so I’ll need something compact to record my thoughts.I’ll look around for something similar:)

      Like

  4. starproms / Jul 20 2012 5:24 am

    Looks like we started at about the same time. Welcome to Blog world. It’s very nice to meet you 🙂

    Like

    • diannegray / Jul 20 2012 7:09 am

      Thank you! It’s very nice to meet you, too. I’m looking forward to trying out more of your very yummy recipes 🙂

      Like

  5. AuthorWorld / Jul 31 2012 1:18 am

    Hi Dianne,
    Thought I would go back to your first post to say Hello.
    It’s good to meet a fellow writer.

    I totally agree with you, it can be isolating! And the distractions! My you don’t realize how many there are until you try and sit down and fully concentrate on writing.

    I find putting my headphones in and having my music on helps, it’s all stuff I’ve heard before so I don’t get distracted by a new track! I then find I drift off into my author world and its extremely hard to get my attention!

    I must be naughty and admit I find I am most motivated during the day… When I’m at work!

    What sort of things do you write? Apologies if this is written in a different blog or page… I will fully look at your site 🙂

    Like

    • diannegray / Jul 31 2012 7:35 am

      Hey, Georgie! Nice to see you’re looking through my site. Thank you!

      I love the way the colour of the writing on your pages changes – very inventive!
      You’re exactly right about the music – there’s nothing better than closing off from the world and going into a little zone of your own.

      My books are listed on the right side of my page under ‘about’. I write just about anything I can find to write about! It’s all fiction (so far), but I’m thinking of taking up an offer to write a memoir for someone (not sure if I want to just yet.
      After work today I’ll have a look through your blog 🙂

      Like

      • AuthorWorld / Jul 31 2012 5:05 pm

        Aw thank you too for looking through mine.
        Yeah it looked a little plain so thought I’d spice it up with some colour 🙂

        I scare myself sometimes when I go into my zone, as I will just be writing and writing and then suddenly stop and hours have flown by! I am like “wow where did the time go?” But it’s nice to know I can do that 🙂

        I shall take a look at them 🙂

        Oh that sounds very interesting, I guess it could be worth a go… If it doesn’t work for either of you then they can find someone else to but at least you both tried.

        🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

